Podcast     Twitter     Facebook     Xbox 360 Deals     Playstation Deals     Nintendo Deals     PC & Mobile Deals     All Latest Deals 

Last visit was: It is currently Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:31 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:44 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:09 am
Posts: 547
Xbox Gamer Tag: Noz UK
PSN Gamer Tag: Noz_UK
Twitter Username: Noz_UK
Steam Tag: Noz_UK
Game Center Tag: Noz_UK
If the dmz doesn't work, I doubt the port forwarding will work either, it has been known that isp's don't like certain ports etc, and someone throttle the bandwidth, or something like that, whose your ISP?

Sorry forgot to add, that putting ps3 in dmz should in theory bypass any port forwarding issues, if I remember rightly just make sure that UPnp is enabled as well on ps3

_________________


Top
Offline Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:51 pm
Posts: 12173
Images: 5
Xbox Gamer Tag: Ugly Geezer
PSN Gamer Tag: UglyGeezer
Twitter Username: UglyGeezer
Steam Tag: UglyGeezer
Bisylizzie wrote:
UglyGeezer wrote:
It's a D-link DIR-615 8-)


That helps, thanks.

So, yeah, Port Forwarding screen, that's right.

First question, have you opened ports for ALL those numbers? (Ignore the TCP, UDP parts for now) (These ones you mentioned -
TCP Ports: 80, 443, 465, 983, 5223, and 10070 - 10080
UDP Ports: 3478, 3479, 3658, and 10070)

Maybe worth doing anyway, with the Traffic Type box you should find the TCP/UDP options there (and choose the right one for each number)



So I put the IP of the PS3 address in the box on the right that says IP address?
(No I haven't opened any ports as I'm clueless as to how) :oops:

Then on the right on the public ports I enter the numbers?

But you've listed 7 sets of numbers for TCP ports? That leaves me confused as there 4 boxes per section on the right?

This is where it completely loses me :oops:

Sorry, this is why I need it done simply :-P


Top
Offline Profile E-mail Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:58 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:27 pm
Posts: 3
UglyGeezer wrote:
So I put the IP of the PS3 address in the box on the right that says IP address?
(No I haven't opened any ports as I'm clueless as to how) :oops:

Then on the right on the public ports I enter the numbers?

But you've listed 7 sets of numbers for TCP ports? That leaves me confused as there 4 boxes per section on the right?

This is where it completely loses me :oops:

Sorry, this is why I need it done simply :-P


Yeah, that's it.

Also, with the ports, you'd really want to put one number per "line"...

Although, just looked it up, looks like you want these ports instead -
TCP 80, UDP 88, UDP 3074, TCP 3074, UDP 53, TCP 53, UDP 3064, TCP 1795, TCP 1745, UDP 1795, UDP 1745

(Again, one port setting per line, with the number in the Public boxes, and the TCP/UDP in the Traffic Type box)


Top
Offline Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:58 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:37 pm
Posts: 2348
Location: St Albans
Xbox Gamer Tag: MakingUpNumbers
PSN Gamer Tag: MakingUpNumbers
Twitter Username: MakingUpNumbers
Steam Tag: MakingUpNumbers
Game Center Tag: MakingUpNumbers
UglyGeezer wrote:
I've tried DMZ and DNS settings chaps, no good.


I'd say if you've tried those, there's not much else you can do. Perhaps it's your ISP? Mines working fine, well as fine as anyone's, with no tweaking, on VirginMedia via their "SuperHub".

_________________


Last edited by MakingUpTheNumbers on Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
Offline Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:09 am
Posts: 547
Xbox Gamer Tag: Noz UK
PSN Gamer Tag: Noz_UK
Twitter Username: Noz_UK
Steam Tag: Noz_UK
Game Center Tag: Noz_UK
MakingUpTheNumbers wrote:
UglyGeezer wrote:
I've tried DMZ and DNS settings chaps, no good.


I'd say if you've tried those, there not much else you can do. Perhaps it's your ISP? Mines working fine, well as fine as anyone's, with no tweaking, on VirginMedia via their "SuperHub".



I agree unless there is an issue with the routing on the router itself, you got a spare router you can try??

_________________


Top
Offline Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:13 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:51 pm
Posts: 12173
Images: 5
Xbox Gamer Tag: Ugly Geezer
PSN Gamer Tag: UglyGeezer
Twitter Username: UglyGeezer
Steam Tag: UglyGeezer
I think I've updated my router....

I will let you all know how I get on (I'm not optimistic).

Thank you so much for your help guys.


Top
Offline Profile E-mail Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 2:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:51 pm
Posts: 12173
Images: 5
Xbox Gamer Tag: Ugly Geezer
PSN Gamer Tag: UglyGeezer
Twitter Username: UglyGeezer
Steam Tag: UglyGeezer
:lol:

Now my router has updated my Ping is through the roof and my speed has halved.

will get onto my ISP and try and get a new router :-?


Top
Offline Profile E-mail Personal album  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 6:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 2615
Location: East Kilbride
Highscores: 5
Xbox Gamer Tag: mannymann44
PSN Gamer Tag: mannny44
Twitter Username: mannymann
Geezer, is the Superhub in Modem only mode (I presume you still have one of them adn the setup is the same as mine). Also the firmware on the Dlink is Virgin Media stock, so it is worth while trying to get the original firmware. I done this back when I was having problems and it made a massive difference.

If you are still having problems, I can remote connect to your PC and then connect to your router and help you out

_________________
Propping up the world



Top
Online Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:00 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:37 pm
Posts: 2348
Location: St Albans
Xbox Gamer Tag: MakingUpNumbers
PSN Gamer Tag: MakingUpNumbers
Twitter Username: MakingUpNumbers
Steam Tag: MakingUpNumbers
Game Center Tag: MakingUpNumbers
mannymann wrote:
Also the firmware on the Dlink is Virgin Media stock, so it is worth while trying to get the original firmware. I done this back when I was having problems and it made a massive difference.


What? Does this mean I can run non VM firmware, point me at a link!

_________________


Top
Offline Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help Me Open Ports Please?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 2615
Location: East Kilbride
Highscores: 5
Xbox Gamer Tag: mannymann44
PSN Gamer Tag: mannny44
Twitter Username: mannymann
MakingUpTheNumbers wrote:
mannymann wrote:
Also the firmware on the Dlink is Virgin Media stock, so it is worth while trying to get the original firmware. I done this back when I was having problems and it made a massive difference.


What? Does this mean I can run non VM firmware, point me at a link!


I think I got mine here http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/d-link/dir-615

_________________
Propping up the world



Top
Online Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Podcast     Twitter     Facebook     Xbox 360 Deals     Playstation Deals     Nintendo Deals     PC & Mobile Deals     All Latest Deals 
fgukyoutube


17,851,074 Views Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net & kodeki


Karma functions powered by Karma MOD © 2007, 2009 m157y